Home Sports “Lagos is Agog Ahead Sportsville Awards,” Says Ilaboya

“Lagos is Agog Ahead Sportsville Awards,” Says Ilaboya



….as Eminent Nigerians Sets to be Awarded


The Chief Executive Officer of Sportsville, Frank Ilaboya has said that Lagos State is agog ahead of the 4th edition of Sportsville Special Recognition Award ceremony, Silvernews.com.ng reports.

Ilaboya, the CEO and organisers of the award said that deserving Nigerians will be recognised for their contributions in the various sectors of the economy.

According to him, part of their vission and mission is to move away from what others are doing and recognise eminent Nigerians, who have made significant contributions in the past.

He equally noted that next year’s awards will see the introduction of new categories such as best player, manager and referee for their contributions to the growth of football in the country.

His words: “This award was part of activities to mark Sportsville, 20 years on air. Since then we have been growing bigger and bigger. This year, it is going to be extra special.

“We want to give award to those who truly deserve it. We don’t want to give award because you are giving us money. If you look at testimonies of those we have given awards in the past, they are all saying the same thing – credible and that is just the vision.

“We want to keep this award as credible as ever, give it to those who have done well and use it to motivate those who are into sports. We are honouring those who have done well and motivating those who are in sports.

“Today is the d-day for the celebration and by 6pm, the red carpet will start at Eko Club and by 7pm, the award will start proper. The level of publicity, inquiries and total package is baffling. I want to thank all my colleagues for doing this wonderful job.

“Lagos is agog. The awardees are all here, top dignitaries are all here and yesterday, Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki said he will leave with a powerful delegation. The same with the former Minister of Sports, Sunday Dare, Rufai Oseni, Larry Izamoje, and Segun Odegbami, who will be the chairman of the day and everybody who is who in sports, will be gathered this evening at Eko Club.

“That tells you the level of interest and participation in this award and I am grateful to the press, grateful to those who believe in the award and grateful to those who want to do well.

“We want to move away from what others are doing. We look at your contributions in the past. You just mentioned Elder Eddington Kuejubola, these are the people that spent their monies and sacrifice to ensure that women football we have today came into being.

“And when he got the award later, he told me that this is the first time ever that somebody is recognising me for what I have done.

“You talk about cricket which is becoming so powerful. You look at what Dr Uyi Akpata is doing. President of Handball, Sam Ocheho or Zainab Saleh, who has been sponsoring women karate for the past nine years unbroken and many others.

“We sat down with the committee to identify people who are doing well. I must commend the committee for doing a good job led by the ebullient Adekunle Salami, the Deputy Editor and Group Sports Editor of the New Telegraph. They sat down since last year, looking at various names and their performances.

“Since we started this award, nobody has ever faulted our awardees because we took pains to go round all sectors. Next year, we are going to introduce the player and manager of the year and the referee of the year for our contributions to Nigeria league.

“Sportsville believes that we must help Nigeria league to grow and the way to do that is to recognise people that are doing well. But this year, we are starting with the media officer of the year, who is the Remo Stars media officer.”

Meanwhile, topping the list of the dignitaries is the Edo State Governor, His Excellency, Mr Godwin Obaseki whose state is receiving award for the Best Sports Facilities Category, immediate past Sports Minister, Chief Sunday Dare, who is the Special Guest of Honour and ace TV anchor, Oseni Rufai of Arise Television.

The list also includes the Chairman/CEO of BRILA FM, Dr Larry Izamoje, Chairman, House Committee on Sports, Lagos State House of Assembly, the Secretary General of the Nigeria Olympic Committee, Mr Tunde Popoola, among others.

In the Sports Icon Category, we have the likes of former Governor of Abia State, Chief Orji Uzor Kalu, Chief Solomon Ogba, Rtn Victor Ochei and Otunba Segun Runsewe, OON.

The Sports Administrator of the Year has the NPFL Board Chairman, Hon Gbenga Elegbeleye. Dr Uyi Akpata, the President of the Nigeria Cricket Federation, leads the likes of Sam Ocheho and Francis Orbih of Handball and Badminton respectively, Hajiya Zainab Saleh, Hauwa-Kulu Akinyemi and Women football pioneer, Elder Eddington Kuejubola. The list also includes the Chairman, Anambra State Football Association, Chikelue Ileononysi.

The rave of the moment in sports radio broadcast goes to BRILA FM, while Kunle Solaja was named as Nigeria’s highly rated diarist! The newly-introduced creative category goes to Jenkins Alumona, the Chief Executive Officer of Flykite Promotions, just as ex-Olympian Daniel Igali wins in the Integrity Category.

The Media Officer of the Year goes to Oladimeji Oshode of Remo Stars Football Club.

In the sports facilities category, Edo State came tops while Remo Sports Facilities Complex made the cut in the private sector category while Mark Igoche clinches the Achieve Award.

Several arrays of top entertainers have been lined up for the ceremony billed for the prestigious Eko Club in Surulere, Lagos State.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here