Home Sports Former SWAN National Officers Call for Full Council to End Crisis

Former SWAN National Officers Call for Full Council to End Crisis




Former National Officers and Concerned Elders of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, SWAN, has called for a full council to resolve the issues in the association.

They made the call in Abuja after evaluating the happenings within the association in recent times.

The recommendations reads: “That the SWAN being a professional body of all practicing Sports Journalists remains a major stakeholder in the Nigeria’s sporting sector.

“That as critical stakeholders, SWAN will remain integral and alive to its responsibilities of playing its watchdog role as always. Therefore, it enjoined all Sports Writers to remain focused in their duties.

“That SWAN as led by Mr. Isaiah Benjamin with various progressive and peaceful steps taken so far, since its inception in July 2023, has reinvigorated the essence of professionalism and strong leadership direction which teeming members are now proud of.

“Based on the incumbent SWAN National leadership’s exemplary display, we have decided to not only support it to excel, but to also rally our members to do same in a bid to completely revive the Association which lost bearing in the past few years.

“We therefore condemn in totality the unstatutory actions of some NEC members who we gathered are being influenced by some forces bent on destabilising the Association. We ask them to retrace their steps.

“We call on the SWAN leadership to convene Full Council as soon as possible in a bid to address any pending issues.

“Having passed a strong Vote of Confidence on the present SWAN leadership, we urge President Benjamin to continuously speak up for the Association as the need arises.

“We also enjoin the SWAN President to personally visit FCT, Lagos and other states that had experienced leadership issues at the various chapters, listen to Sports Writers and apply diplomacy in resolving any impediment whatsoever.”

Present at the Meeting were Mr. Richard Jideaka (former Secretary-General SWAN), Andrew Abah (former Secretary-General SWAN), Mr. Mike Ndidi (former National Welfare Officer SWAN), Mr Ben Ogbemudia (former Deputy Secretary-General SWAN).


Others are; Mr. Jude Opara (Immediate Past Secretary-General SWAN), Mr. Ahaziah Suleiman (former SWAN and SWANECO Chairman), Mr. Ndubueze Chidoka (Outgoing Chairman SWAN), Mr. Asuliemen Osasuyi (Veteran SWAN Member) and Mallam Olayinka Owolewa (Vice President North-central SWAN) who joined virtually.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here